The Ascension Cathedral (Senkov Cathedral) in Almaty was built in the late 19th and early 20th centuries by the Russian architects Borisoglebsky, Stepanov, Troparevsky and Senkov. After the earthquake of 1910, which destroyed many buildings in Almaty, this is the only structure that survived.
The uniqueness of the cathedral lies in its construction: it was built entirely of wood, without a single nail. It is a three-sided church with five domes and a bell tower. With a height of 56 metres, it is one of the seven tallest wooden buildings in the world.
During the Soviet period, the cathedral was misappropriated, so the main decorations with wrought ornaments and stucco have been lost. At various times there was a radio station, a museum and an exhibition hall. The cathedral was restored to its original aesthetic in the 1990s. The interior painting is the work of the artist Nikolay Khludov. The domes are decorated with bright geometric ornaments.
The Ascension Cathedral (Senkov Cathedral) in Almaty is a functioning religious building of the Russian Orthodox Church. The most important relic of the church is the venerated icon of Our Lady of Feodorovskaya.