Amir Temur Square is a square with a small park in the central part of Tashkent in Uzbekistan. The history of the square began in the 2nd half of the ⅩⅨ century, when the Turkestan region, later called the Turkestan General Government, was incorporated into the Russian Empire. Tashkent became the residence of the Russian governors-general. In 60-80-ies ⅩⅨ century a park was laid out in the city centre, around which female and male gymnasiums, a state bank and a teachers’ seminary were built. The building of the girls’ grammar school now houses the Tashkent Institute of Law. The complex of historical buildings around the square has been carefully preserved. The church of St. Alexander Nevsky at the teachers’ seminary, built in 1898 by the architect A. Benua, has not been preserved.
After the death of the Governor General Konstantin Kaufman, his grave was located in the park and the square was called Konstantinovsky for a long time. In 1913, with the help of donations, a multi-figure monument with a double-headed eagle and the inscription: “For Konstantin Petrovich von Kaufman and his troops who conquered Central Asia” was erected in the centre of the park. The monument was destroyed after the 1917 revolution and the plinth had a rich history. In the Soviet period there were many monuments: the banner and cannons, the hammer and sickle, the column with the Arabic script, Lenin, Stalin, a stele with the programme of the CPSU, Karl Marx. And the park, which for a short time was a public garden named after Maria Spiridonova, was called the Public Garden of the Revolution. The park was used for rallies in different years: the Communist Party in the 20-30-ies, and from the 60-ies – gatherings of Crimean Tatars who demanded to return to Crimea after the deportation. From the 60- ⅩⅩ century a restaurant and an ice cream parlour opened here, the “golden youth” began to gather. The square became a popular place for meetings and recreation.
The name Temur was given to the square a year after Uzbekistan’s declaration of independence in 1994, and since then it has been adorned by an equestrian statue of the great conqueror Amir Temur, created by the sculptor Ilhom Jabbarov. Amir Temur is a symbol to consolidate the Uzbek people based on the memory of the great deeds of their predecessors. The conqueror and general who created a powerful empire in the XIV century, subjugated the states of Central and Asia Minor, Caucasus, India, Turkey, appears seated on a horse in imperial dress. The motto of the famous Temur – “Strength in Justice” – is written on the pedestal in four languages.
Over the years, many attractions have sprung up around the square, forming the modern face of Tashkent: the Hotel Uzbekistan, the Museum of Timurid History, the famous Tashkent Carillon and the grandiose Palace of Forums, crowned with a 48-metre-high dome. Next to the park is Arbat Tashkent – a pedestrian street Sailgoh, where street artists draw portraits of passers-by, sell souvenirs, handicrafts and paintings. You can choose from oriental landscapes, skullcaps and turbans, textile oriental shoes, Uzbek ceramics and jewellery.
In 2009, Amir Temur Square, where the park is located in Tashkent, underwent a major reconstruction. In place of the old park, an open square with fountains, paths, lawns and newly planted trees was created.