The Shakhimardon mausoleum, built in the XVIIIth century, is located 500 metres west of Dishan-Kala, on the territory of the Pakhlovon Makhmud collective farm of Khiva district of Khorezm region. In the XVIII. Century a cemetery was built around the mausoleum. People associate this place with the name of Hazrat Ali, the Prophet’s son-in-law. In fact, the first to be buried here were the brave warriors of Khoresm Shah. The Sсhaсhimardon Mausoleum is the central part of the memorial complex, which also includes a medrese (late 19th century) and a karikhona (1908). There are also Toz Mahram and Shahsufar Mahram Medrese and a mausoleum where members of the Toz Mahram family are buried.
The Shakhimardon mausoleum in Khiva was closed during the Soviet period as part of the authorities’ anti-Islamic policy. However, it continued to be visited by worshippers. On 27 March 1945, by Decree No. 410, the Council of People’s Commissars of the Uzbek SSR transferred from the Directorate of Architecture under the Council of People’s Commissars of the Uzbek SSR to the Spiritual Council of Muslims of Central Asia and Kazakhstan (SADUM) seven most frequently visited mazars, including Shakhimardon. Shakhimardon was officially used by Muslim clergy for a short period of time. During this time, a hotel and water resort were built at the Shaсhimardon Mausoleum of SADUM. Decree No. 9363-rs of the USSR Council of Ministers of 18 June 1950 allowed the Uzbek authorities to withdraw Shaсhimardon from SADUM. However, Shakhimardon remained closed only on paper. The director of one of the Soviet schools and the secretary of one of the VKP(b) organisations became the sheikh of the formally closed Shakhimardon mausoleum.